And The 2012 CFDA Award Winners Are…

The CFDA Awards are the fashion world’s version of the Oscars, which means there are winners and losers and lots of red carpet action. You can see all the amazing (and not-so-amazing) looks here, but first you should familiarize yourself with the night’s victors.

First-time Womenswear Designer of the Year nominees Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen took home the night’s most coveted award for their work for The Row, edging out Marc Jacobs and the Proenza Schouler boys. (Which, wow.) The night’s other big winners were Billy Reid for menswear and Reed Krakoff for accessories. Joseph Altuzarra, Phillip Lim, and Tabitha Simmons all snagged Swarovski Awards for Emerging Talent.

Considering last year’s list of winners was seriously lacking in female designers, we’re pumped to see the Olsens and Simmons take home Trovas. As was previously reported, John Waters accepted both Rei Kawakubo‘s International Award and Johnny Depp‘s Fashion Icon Award.

Check out the full list of winners (and nominees) below — and remember, the ceremony will be broadcast online tomorrow at noon!

Womenswear Designer of the Year
The Nominees: Marc Jacobs, Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen of The Row, Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez of Proenza Schouler
The Winner: Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen of The Row

Menswear Designer of the Year
The Nominees: Patrik Ervell, Billy ReidSimon Spurr
The Winner: Billy Reid

Accessories Designer of the Year
The Nominees: Alexander Wang, Reed KrakoffJack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez of Proenza Schouler
The Winner: Reed Krakoff

Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent in Womenswear
The Nominees: Joseph Altuzarra, Chris Peters and Shane Gabier of Creatures of the Wind, Max Osterweis and Erin Beatty of Suno
The Winner: Joseph Altuzarra

Swarovksi Award for Emerging Talent in Menswear
The Nominees: Antonio Azzuolo, Todd Snyderm, Phillip Lim
The Winner: Phillip Lim

Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent in Accessories
The Nominees: Tabitha Simmons, Pamela Love, Irene Neuwirth
The Winner: Tabitha Simmons

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award: Tommy Hilfiger

International Award: Rei Kawakubo

Founders Award, in honor of Eleanor Lambert: Andrew Rosen

Media Award, in honor of Eugenia Sheppard: Scott Schuman and Garance Doré

Fashion Icon Award: Johnny Depp

Filed Under |
© 2015 Styleite, LLC   |   About UsAdvertiseNewsletterJobsPrivacyUser AgreementDisclaimerContactArchives RSS

Dan Abrams, Founder
  1. Mediaite
  2. The Mary Sue
  3. Styleite
  4. The Braiser
  5. SportsGrid
  6. Gossip Cop