CFDA Inducts Newest Class, DVF Reelected As Prez

The Council of Fashion Designers of America inducted 26 new members this week, bringing its total membership to 427. The board also voted to extend Diane von Furstenberg‘s presidency for the second time, making her head of the organization through 2014. It will be her fourth term at the helm of the council.

As per CFDA CEO Steven Kolb:

“Diane has done an excellent job as CFDA president. The time and resources she gives and the vision she has created is a huge benefit for our organization and industry.”

DVF has held the presidency since 2006, and could be elected for another two years in 2014. She is now the third longest-tenured CFDA president, behind Stan Herman (1991-2006) and Norman Norell (1965-1973).

Among the CFDA’s class of 2012 are celebrity-stylist-turned-designer Rachel Zoe, Jeffrey Monteiro of Bill Blass, Joseph Altuzarra, Lauren Moffatt, and Emily Current and Meritt Elliott of Current/Elliott.

But the new inductees aren’t the only cause the CFDA has for celebration — the organization commemorated its 50th anniversary at its annual Fashion Awards last week.


Filed Under |
© 2015 Styleite, LLC   |   About UsAdvertiseNewsletterJobsPrivacyUser AgreementDisclaimerContactArchives RSS

Dan Abrams, Founder
  1. Mediaite
  2. The Mary Sue
  3. Styleite
  4. The Braiser
  5. SportsGrid
  6. Gossip Cop