Katy Perry’s Mom Can’t Stand Her Daughter’s Style

It’s no secret that Katy Perry‘s evangelical Christian preacher mother doesn’t like her daughter’s skimpy outfits and racy lyrics (or her foulmouthed husband, Russell Brand). But she dislikes them so intensely that now she’s writing a book about how intensely she dislikes them.

Mary Perry Hudson is hard at work shopping a tome about how destructive her daughter’s work is. Page Six got its hands on the book proposal, most of which is concerned with Hudson’s grief that her daughter lives her life very differently from the way she and her husband (and fellow preacher) Keith Hudson live theirs.

Of course, momma Hudson has already spoken volumes about how wrong it is that her daughter bares her flesh and promotes homosexuality all in one fell swoop. She told The Daily Mail in 2008 that Perry knew ” how disappointed her father and I are.” But in book form that same statement would make her money. Below, our personal favorite clips from the book proposal:

“Katy stepped out from behind the changing doors in a tiny risqué costume. No mother wants to see the top of her daughter’s boobs . . . My first instinct was to order her back behind those doors and demand she put something else on . . . However, I had no problem letting my eyebrows say what I wouldn’t allow my mouth to utter.”

“Oh, dear God, how can I save her from all this? The money, the fame, the network, the people surrounding her, how can I compete?”

“This memoir is . . . not Christian proselytizing or a Katy Perry tell-all.” But in a note about target markets, she writes, “Fans of Katy Perry and Russell Brand will flock to the bookstores to snatch up a copy . . . either through curiosity or obsession, to get a glimpse of their stars through Mary’s eyes.”

Well. We understand that Hudson is miffed that her daughter didn’t go into the family business, but she is sort of an international music superstar. And wherever there are international music superstars, there are people trying to make money off them. Including their sorely disappointed parents.

Katy’s Boobs Traumatize Mom [Page Six]

Filed Under |
© 2014 Styleite, LLC   |   About UsAdvertiseNewsletterJobsPrivacyUser AgreementDisclaimerContactArchives RSS

Dan Abrams, Founder
  1. Mediaite
  2. The Mary Sue
  3. Styleite
  4. The Braiser
  5. SportsGrid
  6. Gossip Cop